skip to main content

Common Core Standards

common core logo
What are the Common Core Standards?


The California Department of Education has developed 21st century standards that apply to all students in grades Kindergarten through Twelfth grade. These standards range in English Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies. Out of all the states in the United States, 45 states have adopted these standards.

Why did we adopt these standards?
states that have adopted the common core state standards map
California and other states adopted these standards because the workforce is changing. Reports done on the growth of jobs and expectations in the workforce had changed and the standards in the schools had not changed nor did they meet the expectations of college ready jobs, or our current jobs that are available in the market. The National Governors Association in conjunction with the Council for Chief Officers, along with many other professionals got together and created these standards. Officials from 48 states participated in the development of these standards.
How will the Common Core Standards be tested?
smarter balanced logo

Each state has chosen a way to test these standards. Some states have chosen outside companies to develop testing questions and programs to test students. California had adopted the California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASP).
Why is Common Core Important?


Supporters of Common Core argue that having clear standards benefits everyone. This includes educators, parents, and students alike.  The argument is that students will receive a similar education that prepares them for college, work, and life after high school. In addition parents and educators will be able to compare schools easier and expectations are the same across all the states that implements them.  By having the same standards across states will also make it easier to adopt similar textbooks, curriculum, and teaching materials for students.